Crisis of faith?

 

IMG_0411.jpg

 

Crisis: a time of intense difficulty, trouble, or danger. A time when a difficult or important decision must be made.

Faith: complete trust or confidence in someone or something. Strong belief in God or in the doctrines of a religion based on spiritual apprehension rather than proof.

Remember last week I introduced my blog as journeying. I wrote about how journeys can be painful. Journeys can also cause us to really come to a point in our lives when we have to make a decision about what and who to trust. I engaged in a conversation with a person this week who was struggling in their journey. You will notice I have given the definitions to two words to begin this blog. I give these definitions because I had a discussion this week with someone who told me they had a “crisis of faith.” As I sat and listened to what this person was sharing, I began to question in my mind this phrase, “crisis of faith”. The question that came to my mind is this: “can a single event cause a person to have a crisis of faith?” I have to admit that the event this person shared with me that they journeyed through was horrible. I can’t even imagine going through what they went through. However, I still have to wonder if a single event can cause us to have a crisis of faith.

I guess I ask this question because it was not the event, or the people involved in the event that the person had faith in. It was God. It was the same God who sent His Son to die on the cross for the world. Nothing changed about God. True, something bad happened to a young person in the event. It was something that was horrible as the young person lost their life. It was an accident, but he still lost his life, innocently. So the question came to this person, “why would God allow this to happen?” No answers. It was an accident. So what would cause a crisis of faith?

I feel bad for the family who went through this event. No family should go through what they did. But what caused the crisis of faith? What caused the feelings that church was not important or real? What caused the feelings that a pastor should not say certain things because what they say is not real? I am truly and honestly pondering this question and would love some input.

Please don’t think I am saying that this person’s struggle is not real. It is a real struggle and I believe something a lot of people are going through. What I am asking is how does this happen? The journey is real and the feeling is real. I believe the struggle is real. I also believe that events that take place in life, especially when they are traumatic, should cause us to process what happened. However, it does concern me that a single event can cause people to have a crisis, and sometimes even lose their faith in a loving God.

IMG_0410 (1).jpg

3 thoughts on “Crisis of faith?

  1. I have met you before, Nancy Holland is my best friend and former co-worker. I hope your new venture will be personally fulfilling and widely known to many people who need help walking through the journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

